Home » Doctor PMS life » I feel like I’ve failed

I feel like I’ve failed

So lately I’ve been focusing on trying to understand why I’m in such a mess lately. Of course, a lot is going on in my life, but seriously I’ve never been so beaten down as in the last couple of weeks. It’s not just that I don’t know if our grant is going to be renewed and I’ll have a job next year. It’s not just that I don’t know what I want to do next. It’s not just the end of my “relationship”. Or my green card that never arrives.

Deep inside I feel like I’m a failure. Feel that I’ve failed in my professional life and I’ve failed in my personal life. I am almost 40 years old and I see myself in a foreigner country, with no stable job and no family around me. Deep inside I know that we make our own choices in life, and I know I could still be “married” if I wanted. But after that I also know I focused myself so hard into my professional life, leaving every feeling and every possibility of relationship for a future “after I get a job”. Years went by, I had to spend a year away in home country, and when back everything I did was to find that dream TT job. That never happened.

It seems that this last short relationship just made me aware to the fact that I am getting old, and I’m getting out of time. I still dream to find someone and have kids, but, can I really dream about that AND a TT position? While I was with him it seems that I lost my focus in a certain way. It was good, I was happy. But I lost my focus. Now that I’m finally seeing things clearer now, I can see my fear of the unknown was indeed fear of having to choose between my work or love life. So, as everything is over now, I should be happy and just focus on my career again, right?

Wrong. The little bug has been awaken. It’s there, all the time. Your biological clock is ticking and you have to be aware of that. Don’t shut yourself down like you’ve done during all these years, find someone nice and just settle down. I wish things could be simple as that. I’ve never been that kind of woman. If I was, I’d be married to my long-time BF from UG and be *happily* working as a dentist in a little town in the middle of nowhere at home country. I always wanted more. I always had big dreams. I wanted to be big. Today I realized I can’t be scared of being alone. Maybe a family is not for me and I was born to be by myself. Maybe I’d regret it someday. But I think that’s just the way I am, and I’m way to old to change it.

One thought on “I feel like I’ve failed

  1. So much of this resonates with me! I’ve been feeling the exact same way about things lately and trying to just focus on work, but can’t. Having a deep bond with someone is important; work alone can’t sustain us and yet that’s kind of what we’re taught in academia. Work matters, people…eh, kinda sorta maybe (I think this may also be a slight generational thing too; we’re a similar age and I think this might just be from when we came up in academia– I hear the ‘people matter!’ refrain a lot more from PIs & grad students the last few years). I may have shared this with you before, but Conan O’Brien addresses how it’s OK for priorities/dreams to shift over time (it’s OK for them to shift over time):

    I’m still trying to figure out what I can do that will feel satisfying to me besides the TT (I’m sure it exists, still not sure about the what part).

    *HUGS*

    Like

Leave a Reply

